PRA-AB: Practice Readiness Assessment in Alberta for internationally trained family physicians

PRA-AB at a glance

Who it is for
IMGs from outside CPSA’s approved jurisdictions, and Canadian graduates who fail a national exam
Exams
MCCQE, plus the TDM for family medicine
Permanent residency
Not listed as a requirement
Recent practice
1 year in the last 3 years, practice or postgraduate training
Training (FM)
University-affiliated program with primary care and core rotations
Assessment
12 + 12 weeks, Part A then Part B
Sponsorship
Required, through DoctorJobsAlberta.comSee Alberta jobs that are sponsorship eligible
Return of service
Not stated; sponsor support up to 6 years
Fees
$200 + GST to apply; PRA fees billed to the sponsor

In detail

How it works

A Practice Readiness Assessment (PRA) is the required final step of an alternate path to independent practice in Alberta for international medical graduates (IMGs) from outside the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta (CPSA)’s list of approved jurisdictions, and Canadian graduates who fail a national exam.

Once registered with the CPSA, the candidate must pass this 2-part assessment of their clinical competence, chart management and professionalism, to join CPSA’s temporary Provisional Register.

The PRA is composed of two parts that applicants must pass in succession before receiving an independent practice permit on the CPSA’s Provisional Register Conditional Practice.

Part A: Preliminary clinical assessment (PCA) – 12 weeks

Part B: Probationary assessment (PA) – 12 weeks

Requirements
  • Medical degree from a school listed in the World Directory of Medical Schools

  • Successful completion of a Registration Exam: a nationally recognized standardized examination in Canada (MCCQE) or in an Approved Jurisdiction as approved by the Registrar, which evaluates the medical knowledge, clinical skills, and professional competencies required to practice medicine in Canada. The complete United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) is accepted as an equivalent to the MCCQE. A partial USMLE is not accepted.

  • At least 1 year of recent practice or postgraduate training in intended specialty (within the last 3 years).

  • Completion of all postgraduate training required for your discipline. For family medicine:

    • a university-affiliated program, including 4 months of community-based primary care and 8 weeks in at least 3 of the following: pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology, surgery, and internal medicine

  • If applying as a family medicine specialist, have passed the Therapeutics Decision-Making (TDM) Examination.

  • A criminal record check or police certificate is required from all locations you have practised and/or trained for more than 90 days in the last five years. Canadian criminal record checks are nation-wide, so only one is required. Although we don’t need it, we will accept a vulnerable sector check if it is a part of your criminal record check. In Canada, criminal record checks must be obtained through the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) or local police services. Any third-party or online criminal record checks (or police certificates) will not be accepted.

  • Patient Relations education is required under the Health Professions Act (HPA) and mandatory for CPSA registration. Applicants are provided with a link to complete this training at the applicable stage.

  • Return of service: CPSA does not state a return of service for PRA-AB. It expects sponsors to support sponsored physicians for up to 6 years, until they obtain a practice permit on the General Register (CPSA sponsorship).

How to apply

Steps to take before you start your PRA:

  1. Submit review of qualifications and receive eligibility letter. CPSA will confirm if you meet eligibility requirements and send an eligibility letter.

  2. Secure sponsorship and pass the TDM Examination (Family Medicine only): Apply for eligible sponsored jobs via DoctorJobsAlberta.com. Note: Your sponsor must send us a sponsorship form.

  3. Submit all supporting documents: Your CPSA Registration Administrator will contact you after we receive your TDM Examination results (if applicable) and sponsorship form.

Fees (2026): the review of qualifications costs $200 + GST and is non-refundable. PRA fees are paid by the sponsor, up to $35,625 + GST per applicant for Parts A and B combined, excluding expenses. Applicants may be responsible for their own assessment fees after CPSA has invoiced the sponsor, so review your employment and sponsorship contracts (CPSA physician fees).

Sources (6)

Physician Fees | CPSA | September 2026

Sponsorship | CPSA | September 2026

Apply for Independent Practice | CPSA | November 2025

Practice-Ready Assessment (PRA) | CPSA | November 2025

Policies | CPSA | September 2025

Approved Jurisdictions | CPSA | October 2025

Common questions

Do I need the MCCQE for PRA-AB?

You need a registration exam: the MCCQE, or a nationally recognized equivalent. The complete USMLE is accepted as an equivalent to the MCCQE; a partial USMLE is not. Family medicine applicants also pass the TDM Examination.

Do I need to be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident?

Permanent residency is not listed as a requirement for PRA-AB.

What training does PRA-AB require?

Completion of all postgraduate training required for the discipline. For family medicine, a university-affiliated program including 4 months of community-based primary care and 8 weeks in at least 3 of pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology, surgery, and internal medicine, plus at least 1 year of recent practice or training within the last 3 years.

How is the assessment structured?

Two parts that must be passed in succession: a 12-week preliminary clinical assessment, then a 12-week probationary assessment, leading to the Provisional Register.

Check if you qualify

Open the Eligibility Screener

From the Path to Practice Series

Adapted with attribution from "Physician Licensing in Canada", written by Dr. Filipe Santos and published by the Medical Council of Canada; copyright in the e-book belongs to the MCC, and this site is not affiliated with or endorsed by the MCC. For education only: rules, fees and requirements change, the regulator and the program make every eligibility and licensing decision, and Dr. Santos makes none. Confirm with the program before acting. Full disclaimer.